Interview to Yurema Requena Juárez

Interview made to Yurema Requena Juarez, long distance swimmer who participated in the Olympic Games of Beijing 2008.

When did you first keen on swimming? How long have you been practicing this sport?

I started swimming when I was 6 in my current club which I haven’t quit during my whole degree. I received my first medal when I was 7. I used to swim in the pool discipline until the summer of 2001, when I was 17. That year, my personal trainer, Ricardo Franch, came up with the idea of signing me up in the Spanish long distance championship and there started my second sport degree. I quickly joined the Spanish team of open water. I was the youngest in the team and I participated in my first world tournament getting the sixth position

What is long distance swimming about?

Long distance is a swimming discipline which is played in open water, in a river, sea or lake. Long distances are swam as official disciplines are 5Km, 10Km y 25Km but the only one Olympic discipline are the 10Km. You must swim against a chronometer, extreme freezing temperatures, waves and, above all, your mates from whom you’ll get lots of hits at the beginning. Each race is completely different.

How do you feel after obtaining the classification for the Olympic Games?

The Olympic Games are the top of sportsmen and sportswomen’s career. After so many years, being in the Olympic Games is like a dream for me.

Which is your best memory in your career as a swimmer?

There are a lot but if I had to choose, I would talk about this last season when I obtained the third position in the world championship and the Olympic passport.

How is a normal day in your life?

I get up at 6 o’clock in the morning in order to train in the local indoor pool from 7 to 9, then I’ve got the rest of the morning for studying, reading or watching the telly. I eat early to take a nap and then I eat a snack, I go to the gym from 6:30 to 7:30 and I swim again from 8 to 10. Finally I go back home to have dinner and get into bed. 

Do you feel strong enough to reach the next Olympic Games?

I am not sure at the moment. I want to focus on the present. For age I could go, because I will have 28 years in 2012 and I could compete well, but there are 4 years forward and many training and it also depends on the sponsors who are still supporting me.

 

Gonzalo Mier Uría

Leave a Reply

